ASAA releases opening round games of state tournament

Posted by Van Williams, ALB Media Director | May 31, 2015

Here are opening round games for the 2015 ASAA State Baseball Tournament, which begins Thursday at Mulcahy Stadium in Anchorage.

10 AM MAC #1 Lathrop vs. SEC #2 Juneau-Douglas

1 PM SEC #1 Ketchikan vs. MAC #2 West Valley

4 PM SC #1 Wasilla vs. CIC #2 South Anchorage

7 PM CIC #1 Chugiak vs. SC #2 Kodiak

Looking back to 2014

Last year, Sitka held off South 11-10 in a three-hour slugfest at Moller Park in rainy Sitka in a state championship game that featured 18 hits, a grand slam and five lead changes. There was drama until the last pitch. Sitka reliever Erickson Fish struck out South’s Willy Homza and Spencer Floyd with the tying run in scoring position in the bottom of the seventh inning to seal the deal. It was the fourth state title for longtime Sitka coach Ed Conway, who retired after the game.

Past State Champions

2014 Sitka

2013 South Anchorage

2012 Juneau-Douglas

2011 South Anchorage

2010 Juneau-Douglas

2009 Dimond

2008 Juneau-Douglas

2007 Sitka

2006 Sitka

2005 Sitka

2004 Kodiak

2003 Juneau-Douglas

2002 Juneau-Douglas

2001 Service

2000 East Anchorage