Columbia [TN] wins BP Invitational for record third time

Posted by Van Williams, ALB Media Director | Jul 11, 2016

Calton Easterwood pitched beautifully and Columbia Post 19 banged out 11 hits in a 7-1 win over the Kenai Post 20 Twins in the championship game of the BP Invitational at Mulcahy Stadium.


Easterwood allowed just four hits while striking out a dozen over seven innings of work. The only run the right-hander surrendered was on a balk with two outs in the sixth inning.


The game ended on a double play.


Columbia won the BP Invitational for a record third time and improved to 14-0-1 in three trips to the tournament under manager Mickey McKeel.


The Tennessee team also beat Kenai - the first-place Legion AA team in Alaska - for the title of the Bill Miller Big Fish Wood Bat Tournament in Kenai earlier this week.


Columbia struck for four runs in the third inning, another in the fourth and two more in the fifth.


Leadoff hitter Bryce Giels was named BP Invitational Most Valuable Player. He batted .545 in five games with nine walks to bouy a .737 on-base percentage. Five of his six hits went for extra bases. The slick shortstop also stole eight bases and boasted a 1.000 fielding percentage.


Center fielder Devin Symlar won the Big Stick Award thanks to a tournament-best 12 RBIs. He drove in a tournament record seven RBIs in a Day 3 win over Dimond.


Kenai's Joe Becher was named Most Outstanding Pitcher. He didn't allow an earned run in nine total innings, including the final two frames of the championship game against Tennessee. Becher finished with 12 strikeouts and a complete game win over Lanakina Post 11 of Hawaii on Day 2.


Service catcher Cooper Bailey-Parsons won the tournament's Gold Glove Award.