Fairbanks Post 11/30/57 wins Midnight Sun Tournament

Posted by Van Williams, ALB Media Director | Jun 24, 2012

Fueled by a thrilling third inning, the Fairbanks Legion AA baseball team reclaimed the title Sunday on the final day of the Midnight Sun Tournament.

Fairbanks beat Dimond Post 21 in the championship game, 10-7 at Arco Field, thanks largely to an eight-run third inning.

"That was the key," Fairbanks assistant coach Ray Pulsifer said.

Rod Perdue went 2 for 3 with 2 RBIs and a run to lead the offense. Scooter Bynum went 2 for 4 with an RBI and Jace Lovell added a base hit, a run, a walk and an RBI.

Fairbanks improved to 7-1 in league, 9-1 overall.

Starter Tim Ballard threw 5 innings to earn the win. Relievers Chris Gavora recorded the next five outs before Mekiah Stansel got the final out for the save.

Fairbanks won four tournament games by a combined score of 42-13.

"This is the first time in my three years as a coach that we won our own tournament, so that’s a nice feeling," Pulsifer said. "Dimond is always a tough game. We’ve struggled with them, so to beat them on our field, is our tournament, is glorious."

Dylan Lauwers went 3 for 4 with a walk to lead Dimond.

His brother Payton Lauwers pitched the final 3.1 innings of relief, holding Fairbanks to just one run.

"He did a great job," Pulsifer said.

The tournament is part of the Alaska Airlines Tournament Tour, which includes stops in Kenai, Wasilla and wraps up with the 19th annual BP Invitational in Anchorage.



Written by Van Williams, ALB Media Director. | June 21, 2012








No.         Name               Year       Bat/Throw    Team

15 Chris Pasquale Jr. R/R Bartlett


Bradley Cooper Jr. R/R Chugiak


Deven Ferris Jr. R/R Chugiak


18 Chase Wilson Jr. R/R Chugiak


49 Hamilton Walker Fr. R/R Dimond


Payton Lauwers Jr. R/R Dimond


Mitchell McCoy Sr. R/R Dimond


41 Sagan Osborne Sr. R/R Dimond


Grant Remmer Soph. S/R Dimond


David Fuller Jr. R/R Eagle River


20 Cameron Hendrix Sr. R/R Fairbanks


Wyatt Berg Fr. R/L Fairbanks


23 Tyson Herold Jr. R/R Fairbanks


19 Mekiah Stansel Jr. R/R Fairbanks


22 Matthew Wixon Grad R/R Fairbanks


10 Jake Darrow Jr. R/R Kenai


16 Ethan Oliver Jr. L/L Kenai


15 Hector Rivera Jr. R/R Kenai


17 Mitchell Thompson Sr. R/R Kenai


Ryan Bailey Jr. R/R Service


14 Ryan Caron Soph. L/L Service


18 Johnny Meszaros Soph. R/R Service


19 Jacob Ridley Soph. R/R Service


25 Connor Cucullu Sr. R/R South


Bryan Baker Sr. R/R South


27 Scott Hodgson Sr. R/R South


41 Jacob Hilowitz Jr. R/R West


11 Dalton Ganter-ChapmanSoph R/R West