Hebert named Gatorade Alaska Player of the Year

Posted by Van Williams, ALB Media Director | Jun 7, 2022

South has turned into a baseball factory and senior Curtis Hebert is the latest star to earn Gatorade Alaska Player of the Year honors.

This makes five winners in seven years for the Wolverines.

The NCAA Division I signee at Portland produced an outstanding season on the mound, behind the dish and at the plate to help South finish 26-0 and capture a second straight state championship.

South also extended its state-record winning streak to 44 games dating back to 2019 when he was a freshman in high school.

Hebert won state player-of-the-year honors, threw the 15th no-hitter in Cook Inlet Conference history and matched the conference record with eight RBIs in one game.

At pitcher, Hebert posted a 4-0 record with one save in six appearances and a 0.00 ERA in 26 innings. He struck out 46 batters and walked 20.

The right-hander didn’t allow a base hit on the season until the second inning of the state title game, ending a hitless streak of 20.2 innings.

Hebert batted .429 batting on 30-of-70 hitting in 26 games. He drove in 27 runs, scored 22 and stole 22 bags. He had 10 extra-base hits, including a pair of home runs.

His versatility and efficiency are what separate him from the other players in the state.

Hebert’s future might be at catcher, where he has developed nicely and has a rocket of an arm. His throws on stolen-base attempts are so precise his infielders barely have to move their glove.

Hebert started catching when he was 13 but played the position off and on until this year.

He credited former MLB draft pick Johnny Meszaros of Anchorage for accelerating his progression over the last two years.

Gatorade Alaska Baseball Player of the Year
2022 – Curtis Hebert, South
2021 – Dylan Maltby, South
2020 – Leland Wilson, West
2019 – Jacob Woodall, South
2018 – Michael Cesar, Juneau-Douglas
2017 – Jonny Homza, South
2016 – Jonny Homza, South
2015 – Nathan Bonck, Ketchikan
2014 – Scooter Bynum, Monroe Catholic
2013 – Erickson Fish, Sitka
2012 – Zach Ferntheil, Service
2011 – Adam Manzer, West
2010 – Dylan Baker, Juneau-Douglas
2009 – Ross Venneberg, Sitka
2008 – Joe Kohan, Juneau-Douglas
2007 – Ryan Skillern, South
2006 – Chad Nading, East
2005 – Zach Mixson, Juneau-Douglas
2004 – Craig Thibodeaux, Chugiak
2003 – Anton Maxwell, East
2002 – Antoine McLeod, East
2001 – Corey Madden, East
2000 – Brian Montalbo, Dimond
1999 – Chad Bentz, Juneau-Douglas