Legion notebook: Ivanoff has 8 RBIs, Hayes pitches gem

Spread the word and share!

Posted by Van Williams, ALB Media Director | Jul 13, 2022

South Post 4 slugger Luke Ivanoff drove in eight runs Tuesday night to carry the Wolverines to a 13-1 victory over Wasilla Post 35.

Ivanoff hit a grand slam in the first inning at McManus Field and finished with eight RBIs – the most in Alaska Legion since 2017 when Kenai’s Paul Steffensen had seven RBIs.

Ivanoff went 3-for-4 with a home run to lead South’s 12-hit attack in five innings.

Also on Tuesday, the Palmer Post 15 Pioneers beat the Bartlett Post 29 Bears 2-1 and the Fairbanks Post 11 49ers knocked off the North Pole Post 30 Wild 15-3.

At Bartlett, Palmer pitching ace Owen Hayes threw another gem in the win over upstart Bartlett.

Hayes went six innings to earn the win, allowing three hits and striking out three. Bryant Marks threw the final inning to earn the save.

Five days ago, Hayes threw a 6-hit shutout to beat South 6-0.

This time he outdueled Bartlett’s Eli Corwin, who allowed one earned run over 5.1 innings.

In Fairbanks, Dylan Swarthout went 3-for-4 with four RBIs and four stolen bases to highlight the win for the 49ers.

This Week’s Legion AA League Games

South 13, Wasilla 1

South (19-7, 9-4)

Luke Ivanoff 3-4 HR 8RBI SB

Blake Peterson 5IP 6K

Maddux Soland 1-4 2RBI

Gavin Partch 2-3 RBI 3R HBP

Wasilla (9-12, 8-7)

Logan Bean RBI

Colton Haase 1-2 R BB

Breandan O'Donnell 1-2


Palmer 2, Bartlett 1

Palmer (15-10, 9-7)

Owen Hayes 6IP 3H 3K 1-2 BB

Koen Leaders 2-2 2B RBI BB

Landon Guggenmos 1-3 3B R

Nate Wilson R

Bryant Marks 1IP Sv

Bartlett (13-14, 10-6)

Eli Corwin 5.1IP 1ER 2K

Luke Helgeson 1-3 2B R

Corey Gagnebin 1.2IP 0R


Fairbanks 15, North Pole 3

Fairbanks (5-13, 2-10)

Dylan Swarthout 3-4 4RBI 4SB

Olav Moeller 3IP 0H

Bryson Roon 2-3 2RBI

Shawn Conwell 1-3 2RBI

North Pole (7-13, 3-9)

Dylan Earl RBI

Ethan Frollo 3BB R

Hunter Clements 2BB R


Bartlett 10, East 3

Bartlett (13-13, 10-5)

Carl Colavecchio 3-4 2RBI 2R SB

Corey Gagnebin 2-4 2RBI 2R 2SB

Nick Brandal 3.1IP 0R 2-4 SB

Connor Sessoms 1-2 RBI 2SB

East (4-21, 1-13)

Angus Nicholson 1-3 2RBI

Bryce Erickson 6IP 6K 1-2 2B

Blake Yawit 2-3 2R 2SB


Kenai 13, Palmer 6

Kenai (13-13, 7-7)

Jacob Belger 2-4 3B 3RBI

Hunter Williams 2-5 RBI 2.2IP 1ER

Simon Grenier 2-3 2RBI 2R

Gabe Smith 2-5 2RBI

Palmer (14-10, 8-7)

Kaesen Buzby 1-3 2RBI 4IP 3K

Koen Leaders RBI

Owen Hayes 2-4 2B

Landon Guggenmos 2-5 2B 3IP


Dimond 4, Ketchikan 3

Dimond (14-9, 9-4)

Miah Eneix 5IP 1ER 11K

Peyton Montagna 1-4 RBI SB

Joe Moriarty 1-2 2B RBI

Eli Lipinski 2IP 0R

Garrett Lick 2-3

Ketchikan (4-11, 1-10)

Bubba Williams 7IP 6K

Thomas Kroscavage 1-3 2B RBI

Trevor Sayer RBI

Colby Hanchey 1-3 SB


Chugiak 6, South 5

Chugiak (14-10, 11-2)

Preston Rau 7IP 2K

Michael Boudreau 1-1 2RBI

Landon Luebke 1-2 RBI

Connor Lanehart 1-2 2BB SB

South (17-7, 7-4)

Ben Neuberger 2-3 2B 2RBI

Kaden Bevegni 2-4 2RBI

Gavin Partch 1-3 RBI

Luke Ivanoff 3IP 1R


Bartlett 9, Wasilla 0

Bartlett (12-13, 9-5)

Blake Bacho 6IP 1H 5K

Corey Gagnebin 2-4 2B 2RBI 2R 2SB

Carl Colavecchio 2-4 2RBI 1IP

Connor Sessoms 1-3 2B 2RBI

John Grantier 3-4 RBI

Wasilla (9-11, 8-6)

Jace Crall 1-3

Dayton Greer 2.1IP 0R

Jaren Venie 3.2IP 4K


Service 19, Fairbanks 1

Service (16-9, 9-5)

Jake Rafferty 3IP 0H 1-3 3RBI

Sean Giffen 2-4 2B 2RBI 2IP

Hunter Christian 2-4 2B 3R

Landon Martindale 1-3 2RBI 3R

Carson Maltby 3R

Fairbanks (4-13, 1-10)

Grant Swarthout 1-3

Bryson Roon BB

Landon Bicknell-Long BB