Napoleon holds off hard-charging Wolves for Classic title

Spread the word and share!

Posted by Van Williams, ALB Media Director | Jun 26, 2022

Alaska 529 Midseason Classic @ Mulcahy Stadium Day 4 of 4

Game 17
Title Game
Napoleon (OH) 11, Eagle River 8

The Post 300 River Bandits made tournament history by winning a record fourth title in a slugfest victory to cap a 5-0 showing, beating the top Legion teams from Anchorage along the way.

Napoleon banged out 12 hits, scored in six of the seven innings and led from start to finish.

The team has now won Midseason Classic championships in 2022, 2019, 2013 and 2011 under longtime manager Randy Bachman.

Napoleon (21-3) was uncharacteristically sloppy defensively with five errors, but the River Bandits countered with five extra-base hits.

Breven Deckrosh provided the main power source, going 3-for-4 with a home run, double and three RBIs.

It was his second homer of the tournament, the first time that's happened since Kaleb Keith of Castroville (TX) in 2012.

Deckrosh had an RBI single in the first inning, a RBI doublein the fifth inning and a solo home run in the seventh inning.

Tylor Yahraus went 3-for-4 with an RBI and three runs, and Mark Butler was 2-for-3 with three RBIs. Butler's two-run double pushed Napoleon's lead to 10-2.

Napoleon's Luke Krouse had a pair of doubles and drove in a run, capping quite the day for the southpaw sensation.

Earlier in the day, he helped the River Bandits beat Service 8-1 in the semifinals as he carried a perfect game into the seventh inning. He lost his bid at history with one out in the final frame after Service's Sean Giffen doubled down the third-base line.

Napoleon had everything working, advancing to the tournament title game for the fifth time and improving to 27-5 at Mulcahy Stadium since 2005.

Eagle River made the title game interesting after the Wolves came alive with four runs in the fifth inning and two more in the sixth, bringing the tying run to the plate.

Noah Lower led the charge, going 4-for-4 with two RBIs. He singled in each of the first, third, fifth and sixth innings.

Back-to-back RBIs by Lower and Josh Thompson pulled Eagle River (14-2) within 10-8, cutting what was an eight-run deficit down to a deuce.

Eagle River was making its first appearance in the Midseason Classic championship game after winning its first four tournament games, including a 17-9 beat down of Chugiak in the semifinals held earlier in the day.

Alaska 529 Midseason Classic 
All-Time Champions

  • 2022– Napoleon (OH)
  • 2021-2020 No Tournament
  • 2019 – Napoleon (OH)
  • 2018 – South (AK)
  • 2017 – Walla Walla (WA)
  • 2016 – Columbia (TN)
  • 2015 – Castroville (TX)
  • 2014 – Columbia (TN)
  • 2013 – Napoleon (OH)
  • 2012 – Columbia (TN)
  • 2011 – Napoleon (OH)
  • 2010 – Dimond (AK)
  • 2009 – Chugiak (AK)
  • 2008 – Fairfield (CA)
  • 2007 – Chugiak (AK)
  • 2006 – Rained out - Tuscaloosa (AL)
  •  vs. Dothan (AL)
  • 2005 – Niwot (CO)
  • 2004 – West Warrick (RI)
  • 2003 – San Francisco (CA)
  • 2002 – Phoenix (AZ)
  • 2001 – West Warrick (RI)
  • 2000 – Lewiston (ID)
  • 1999 – Service (AK)
  • 1998 – Tacoma (WA)
  • 1997 – Chugiak (AK)
  • 1996 – Yakima (WA)
  • 1995 – Kennewick (WA)