South's Hebert named MVP to headline All-CIC awards

Posted by Van Williams, ALB Media Director | Jun 1, 2022

For the fourth time in five years, a player from South has earned MVP honors in the Cook Inlet Conference.

Senior all-star Curtis Hebert earned the 2022 Don Rabung MVP Award in a vote by head coaches over fellow finalists Oliver Brown of South and Noah Lower of Eagle River.

Hebert was a trifecta of terrific as an elite pitcher, catcher and hitter. He pitched the 15th no-hitter in CIC history and tied the league’s single-game RBI record of 8.

The right-hander hasn’t allowed an earned run in 19 innings on the mound. At the plate, he’s batting .403 on 25-of-62 hitting with 2 home runs and 24 RBIs in 23 games.

Hebert was also selected first-team pitcher and first-team catcher.

He’s the seventh South player to win MVP honors, including recent winners Jacob Woodall in 2019, Lian Lincoln in 2018 and Jonny Homza in 2017.

CIC MVPs Per School

8 - East

8 - Service

7 - South

4- Chugiak

4 - Dimond 

1 - Bartlett

1 - Eagle River

1 - Bartlett

Hebert was the MaxPreps Preseason Player of the Year and has signed to play NCAA Division I baseball at the University of Portland.

Brown was first-team shortstop and second-team pitcher while Lower was first-team utility and first-team pitcher.

South’s Isaac Johnson won the Wade Blasingame Top Pitcher Award. The right-handed ace posted league hits in wins (7), innings (34) and strikeouts (48).

Recent Top Pitcher Award winners from South include Parker Johnson in 2017 and Brody Jessee in 2019.

Bartlett outfielder Carl Colavecchio had a big night, taking home the Big Stick Award and sharing the Gold Glove Award with Service middle infielder Sebastian Fournier.

Colavecchio hit .420 on 21-of-50 hitting with 16 RBIs, 14 runs and seven-extra base hits in 18 games.

Colavecchio is the second Bartlett player to win the Big Stick Award, joining first baseman Logan Williams in 2015. He’s the fifth Golden Bear to win a Gold Glove.

Fournier is the fourth Service player to win a Gold Glove, the first since shortstop Jake Ridley in 2012.

2022 ALL-CIC Team_Page_1.jpg

2022 ALL-CIC Team_Page_2.jpg